Fiction Writing: Become Your Character

Guys and Gals, here is another post from Two Drops of Ink. Mosey on over and take a look.

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

1280px-little_women_lobby_card_1933“Write what you know…”

By Lydia Oyetunji

I started writing fiction at a young age. The first time I wrote for an audience was for a school assignment. If you can, in fact, call your literature teacher ‘an audience.’ Nevertheless, you can imagine how nervous and excited I felt. In a way, this would be my literary debut. My short story would be the best in my class, earning me an “A” as well as a pat on the back. My paper was typed without error and included all the bells and whistles; it had a cover sheet neatly tucked inside of its plastic folder.

A week later my composition was returned to me riddled with red ink and a big fat ‘C.’ I was disheartened by the look of my wounded paper and the letter grade it wore. How could I fall short in mastering something that I love so…

View original post 664 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.