The ‘Memoir Challenge’: Out From the Darkness

Two Drops of Ink is much more than a literary blog! It’s a community where writers let their hair down, share and encourage. Compelling #shortstories, #memoir, #poetry and much more.

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

By Lydia Oyetunji

The sun is shining brightly through the window. It welcomes me to come out and enjoy all that it has to offer. Unmoved, the invitation goes unanswered. Instead, I give into my mental and emotional incarceration. I am in a dark place, and it is where I feel comfortable. My valley of lavender lilies and beautiful butterflies no longer exists. No matter how it may seem this dungeon is not where I choose to take up residence but where my mind and emotions force me to live. This is merely the effects of depression.


I was not always this person on a forever emotional roller coaster ride. I was once this consistently bubbly, outgoing, and happy person. Compliments about my permanent smile and optimism followed me for as long as I can remember. No one knew what lay dormant behind those gleaming brown eyes and contagious laugh…

View original post 452 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.

2 thoughts on “The ‘Memoir Challenge’: Out From the Darkness”

  1. Lydia, one of the things that I have always admired about you is your honesty. I appreciate your candor in this and hope that you can find some relief that doesn’t cause additional distress. Again, as a friend, I am just a phone call away. As a co-worker at Two Drops of Ink, you are such a blessing. As a writer, my how you have grown. Blessings and love to you today.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Marilyn, you were right slowly facing the past is what will help me. That conversation we had replays in my mind daily as if were yesterday. It was the best advice ever given to me. I miss and love you dearly. It was a blessing the day I met you. You are an inspiration to me and I’m quite sure others who read your compositions. Your purpose in life is definitely being fulfilled. Sending much Love and Blessings right back at you my dear friend. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.