Social Media: The Etiquette of Sharing Content

As a #socialmedia coordinator and enthusiast, I wrote this article for “Two Drops of Ink” regarding the importance of #sharing #content. Many have commented that it was very informative. A great follow up to the reblogged post by Peter Giblett.

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

socialmedia-pm

“If you have a candle, the light won’t glow any dimmer if I light yours off of mine.” 
― Steven Tyler

The saying says… “Sharing Is Caring”!!! This is not always a true statement in the world of social media. If you are an avid social media user, you may have noticed the following:

  • Requests for page “likes” that are not returned.
  • Retweets unreciprocated or impermanent followers.
  • You visit blogs, share content, and receive no acknowledgement. There’s no comment of thanks or a brief visit to your blog or Facebook page.

I refer to these fair – weather Twitter tweeters, greedy Facebookers, and illiberal bloggers as social media vampires. Beware! They lay in wait, ready to pounce and suck the blood of what could be faithful supporters. Thus, leaving them cowering in a virtual corner reluctant to share the content of those outside their immediate circle. This type of behavior…

View original post 704 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.