Memoir, Fairy Tales, and Cathartic Experiences

If you are thinking about writing your memoir, read this article by Marilyn Davis on “Two Drops of Ink”.

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

By: Marilyn L. Davis

Start with your childhood, I tell them. Plug your nose and jump in, and write down all your memories as truthfully as you can. Flannery O’ Connor said that anyone who has survived childhood has enough material to write for the rest of his or her life. Maybe your childhood was grim and horrible, but grim and horrible is okay if it is well done. Don’t worry about doing it well yet, though. Just get it down.”  Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

 once upon a time pencil no border
Risky Business This Confessing
=
We all need to have a cathartic experience periodically. Taken from the Greek word,  κάθαρσις, it is the purification and purging of emotions, especially self-pity, and fear.
 =
Both of those emotions and attitudes can prevent us from becoming all that we can be, find closure…

View original post 1,148 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.

2 thoughts on “Memoir, Fairy Tales, and Cathartic Experiences”

Comments are closed.