Writing and Using Metaphors

My latest post on “Two Drops of Ink” a blog for seasoned and new writers!!!

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

By Lydia Oyetunji

“Writing is The Air I Breathe. Without it I will surely Die.”

 Are you familiar with metaphors? How often do you include them in your writing? I’m a writer who has been newly introduced to metaphors. I remember metaphors and similes from my high school years, but I don’t think I have applied them to my writing very often. My purpose for writing this article is to refresh the memory of seasoned writers as well as assist new writers.

What is a metaphor?

Simply put, a metaphor is a figure of speech comparing two different things that have something in common. Metaphor is a Greek word that means to “transfer” of “carry across.” Metaphors “carry across” the meaning from one image, word, or idea to another. Be careful not to confuse the comparing of two items with similes, by using “like” or “as.”

How do I…

View original post 899 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.