Because I Could Not Draw, I Became an Artist with Words

A wonderful depiction of the art of writing.

Two Drops of Ink: A Literary Blog

By Marilyn L. Davisblank easel

Growing up in a family of artists, I was always jealous of their talents when they captured emotions, exotic scenes, or reproduced life-like drawings. Then there were the props – the smell of paint, easels with a canvas fully covered, that only a few days before had been a completely white surface. Or an unfinished still life; waiting for the right light.

My mother was a cloth artist.  She could buy a piece of fabric and two weeks later be in another store without a swatch and perfectly match the hue, family or an exact color.

I, on the other hand, confused red and orange.

My sister won her first art contest at age 7; competing with adults. Since she is younger than I am, you can imagine how inadequate and unimportant I felt. Drawing, painting and winning art shows comes naturally to some children; writing…

View original post 1,314 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.