Impact of Social Media on Civil Agitation

Bullying Stories

It’s no exaggeration to say that the social media revolution has impacted millions of people all over the world, changing lives and even altering the course of history. Social media have changed the way individuals, organizations, and governments interact. They have fostered a new openness and transparency, and have made it easier for advocacy and activist groups to organize for change. Just in the past few years, social media have been credited with…

• overthrowing totalitarian regimes during the Arab Spring
• spotlighting social and economic injustice via the Occupy movements (which began on Wall Street and spread all over the world)
• exposing one of the worst dictators in modern history, the African cult/militia leader and indicted war criminal Joseph Kony, through KONY2012
Social media have also been used to rapidly spread news and updates during natural disasters, such as earthquakes and catastrophic storms, as well as to organize…

View original post 599 more words

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.