“Poets against Bullying”

For those of you who read my blog posts. You may have noticed last week I have been promoting “Poets against Bullying” Usually mu my posts are educational, informative, and business related. This post is dear to me due to my passion and love for ALL people and their well- being. Especially, when it means the welfare of children, when Ashley (facebook.com/writerashleyl, www.chargedvisions.com) informed me of her movement to spread awareness, I was fired up to jump on board. I immediately started doing research on bullying in hopes to find signs of bullying and how to prevent bullying. Are adults bullied and what are the signs? I also wanted to locate the statistics of both situations.

Bullying is when a person or group repeatedly tries to harm someone who is weaker or who they think is weaker. Sometimes it involves direct attacks such as hitting, name calling, teasing or taunting. Sometimes it is indirect, such as spreading rumors or trying to make others reject someone.

Often people dismiss bullying among kids as a normal part of growing up. But bullying is harmful. It can lead children and teenagers to feel tense and afraid. It may lead them to avoid school. In severe cases, teens who are bullied may feel they need to take drastic measures or react violently. Others even consider suicide. For some, the effects of bullying last a lifetime.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention NIH

I found myself thanking God that I’m not a parent. The forums, groups, and blogs that the youth turn to sharing the darkest of feelings and thoughts. It was very emotional to view and to know these parents don’t have a clue of the pain their children are experiencing.

Another surprise was the fact that adults are also bullied.  Bullying among adults is more prevalent in the workplace, as I studied deeper into the subject I found this to be quite astonishing.

The Workplace Bullying Institute defined it as follows:  Workplace Bullying is repeated, health-harming mistreatment of one or more persons (the targets) by one or more perpetrators. It is abusive conduct that is:

  • Threatening, humiliating, or intimidating, or
  • Work interference — sabotage — which prevents work from getting done, or
  • Verbal abuse

This definition was used in the 2014 WBI U.S. Workplace Bullying Survey. Its national prevalence was assessed.

I refuse to feed my readers all the specifics of my research but to give enough information to build awareness. I have provided the links, the information and tools are out there for us to begin to bring an end to a cause that should not occur. No two people are the same it does not matter if we are born as individual, twin or as a triplets. There will always be something in our personality as people that makes us unique, different and intriguing as people. No human being should be bullied, judged or mistreated in any way because of our difference. There are those like myself who enjoy “marching to our own drum”, so to speak. I feel as long it does not offend, harm are disturb those around us then… “Carry on”.

We as a community should become more aware of what’s going on around us. Get involved!!! Speak up and speak out!!!

 

References:

The Workplace Bullying Institute

http://www.workplacebullying.org/wbiresearch/2010-wbi-national-surve

http://www.workplacebullying.org/2011/09/27/prevalence-error/

PBS This Emotional Life

http://www.pbs.org/thisemotionallife/topic/bullying/adult-bullying

Support “Poets against Bullying” by clicking the link below for our limited edition t- shirts.

 

Author: Lydia

I am just what my blog says... I Live...Love...Share!!! I'm a Virtual Administrative Assistant, Writer and Social Media Marketer/ Manager. I spend most of my life online working and learning new people and things. My passion is writing, meeting interesting people and discussing a variety of subjects.

1 thought on ““Poets against Bullying””

Comments are closed.